Sharing contacts is useful when multiple team members are working with the same contact because it allows for streamlined and consistent correspondence.
- How to share contacts with team members
- How to share a Bucket
How to share contacts with team members
By default, all contacts are private. You can share contacts in two ways.
By changing all private contacts to shared contacts
In Settings under Team and Permissions, tick the box to "Share All Contacts." Ticking this box will share visibility of all contacts, regardless of if they're in a shared Bucket and regardless of if they're in a Bucket at all. Ticking this box will not share all conversations with all contacts. To share all conversations, you'll need to add all contacts to a Bucket shared with all team members and have each team member enable conversation sharing. See here for details.
By changing selected private contacts to shared contacts
To share only some contacts, place just those contacts in a shared Bucket.
Once you've added a contact to the shared Bucket, that contact will appear in the same Bucket in the account(s) of each team member with access to that Bucket. If you remove a contact from the shared Bucket, the contact will also be removed from the Bucket in the account(s) of each team member with access to that Bucket.
A shared Bucket is indicated with a gray team icon on the Buckets page.
How to share a Bucket
You can change a private Bucket to a shared Bucket, or create a new Bucket specifically for sharing contacts.
To share a Bucket, click on the Bucket in the Buckets tab and click on the Bucket's Sharing tab. Click "Add team member" on the right-hand side to give a team member access to the Bucket. Then set that team member's level of access. The level of access you set applies just to the Bucket you're editing.
The default access level is viewer access, which gives permission only to view the Bucket name and contacts. (The user can still edit the contacts themselves, just not add or remove them from the Bucket.)
Owner access can't be modified. Only the creator of the Bucket has owner access. Only the owner can delete the Bucket.
Manager access gives permission to add and remove team members from the Bucket. It also gives permission to add and remove contacts from the Bucket, edit the name of the Bucket, and edit the goal of the Bucket.
Editor access gives permission to add and remove contacts from the Bucket. It also gives permission to edit the name and goal of the Bucket.
The "View conversations" option controls whether or not a team member can see conversations other team members have had with contacts in the Bucket. (You can always see your own conversations with a contact.) To make it so that all conversations are shared across the team, each team member must individually enable the "View conversations" option for the shared Bucket. There is no way for the admin to set it so that all conversations are shared for all team contacts.
The Reminder column allows you set it so that a team member receives Follow-Up Reminders for contacts in that Bucket.
Can I set it so that just one team member is responsible for following up with a contact?
Yes. To do so, assign that contact to the team member. You can only assign a contact to one team member, not multiple.
Can I set it so that when any team member follows up with a contact in a shared Bucket, that contact's Follow-Up Reminder is reset for all team members?
No, Follow-Up Reminders are issued on an individual basis. Likewise, a Bucket's status (green/strong, yellow/fading, red/weak) is based on each team member's activities for that Bucket, not the team's activities as a whole.
What happens if I apply a Program to a shared Bucket?
Program steps appear on the Dashboard of the team member who applied the Program.
I want my Contacts tab to show just my contacts, not team members' contacts that have been shared with me. How can I see just my contacts?
Scroll down on the left hand side of the Contacts tab and find Connected To. Uncheck the box that says "Include team's contacts." This will hide all contacts except those whom you have interacted with or uploaded personally.
If some of the contacts whom you have interacted with are in Buckets you share with other team members, you may see that the Last Contact column notes a team member's interaction. This may occur when you and a team member have a contact in common. Unchecking the box that says "Include team's contacts" hides only contacts with whom you've never interacted.
How can I make private my personal conversations with a specific shared contact?
Go to the contact's profile and click the icon at the top right-hand corner that indicates the contact is shared. Click "Change to private." This will hide your conversation history so that it's only visible to you. The contact and other team members' conversations with that contact will still be visible to team members who have access to it. To fully share the contact again, click the red lock at the top right-hand corner of the contact profile.
How do I set it so that none of my team members can export or delete any team contacts?
You can adjust these settings in Contactually's Settings under Users and Permissions.
What happens if a team member archives or deletes a contact in a shared Bucket?
The contact is archived or deleted from every team member's account.