Contactually

Overview of Contactually for teams (how-to)

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2017 01:51PM EST

Share your database for streamlined communication

Use Contactually's team features to share content and apply best practices across a team as well as ensure team members don't duplicate outreach efforts. As an administrator, set access permissions, assign Tasks and contacts, and distribute content, enabling an efficient, organized process.

Monitor your team's performance with shared Pipelines and insights on activity levels. Use the information to identify areas for improvement as well as successful patterns that can be repeated across the team.

 



How to set up a team

For instructions with screenshots, see here.

1. Go to Contactually's Settings.

2. Scroll down on the left hand side and click Users under Team.

3. Click Add New User at the top right and type in your team member's email address.

4. Click Save.

5. Your team member will receive an email with a link to set up a Contactually account. Be sure that your team member uses that specific link, or else the new account won't be linked to yours!

6. Repeat steps 3 and 4 for additional team members.

On the Team tab of Settings, use the Admin column to slide administrator permissions on and off for team members. Use the column titled Active to turn on and off payment for accounts (activate and deactivate user seats on your team). If you deactivate a seat and have an annual subscription, that seat will be available for reassignment to another team member. You will not receive a prorated refund. If you deactivate a seat and have a monthly subscription, your bill will be reduced the next month to reflect the reduction in seats.

Note that when a team member uses the invitation you send to set up and activate an account attached to yours, you (or the primary account administrator) is charged. All team accounts are charged to the credit card on file for the primary account administrator.

To add an existing Contactually user to your team, you'll need to email Support.


How to share contacts

Sharing contacts is useful when multiple team members are working with the same contact because it allows for streamlined and consistent correspondence.

By default, all contacts are private. You can share contacts in two ways:

 

Option 1: In Settings under Team and Permissions, tick the box to "Share All Contacts."

Option 2: Place contacts in a shared Bucket. You can change a private Bucket to a shared Bucket, or create a new Bucket and share it.

To share a Bucket, click on the Bucket in the Buckets tab and click the Bucket's small Sharing tab. Click "Add team member" on the right hand side to give a team member access to the Bucket. Then set that team member's level of access. The level of access you set applies just to the Bucket you're editing.

The default access level is viewer access, which gives permission only to view the Bucket's name and contacts. Team members with viewer access can edit shared contacts but not the shared Bucket.

Owner access can't be modified. Only the creator of the Bucket has owner access. Only the owner can delete the Bucket.

Manager access gives permission to add and remove team members from the Bucket.

Editor access gives permission to add and remove contacts to the Bucket. It also gives permission to edit the name and goal of the Bucket.

The "View conversations" option controls whether or not a team member can see conversations other team members have had with contacts in the Bucket. (You can always see your own conversations with a contact.) This option is always controlled by each individual team member.

The Reminder column allows you set it so that a team member receives Follow-Up Reminders for contacts in that Bucket.


How do I see how well my team is performing?


You can monitor team members' performance by clicking your photo or initials in the top right hand corner of your account and then clicking Insights. Insights provides snapshots of each team member's activity levels and Network Health. It is divided into four sections: RelationshipsActivityReach, and Response.


FAQs

If a team member already has a Contactually account, how do I connect it to the team account?

Please have your team member email support@contactually.com with the request, and we'll connect the accounts on the back end.

Can I have my team members billed separately?

No, you must have a single payer. For details, see here.

Can I set up a smaller team "within" my team account?

No, you can't have a smaller team that operates with its own team settings but remains within a larger team.

Can I be on more than one team account?

You can't tie the same email login to multiple accounts, whether those accounts are team or personal. You can use separate email logins for the distinct teams you're on, in which case you'll pay for the number of accounts you have logins for (one login per account).

Can I set it so that just one team member is responsible for following up with a contact?

Yes. To do so, 
assign that contact to the team member. You can only assign a contact to one team member, not multiple.

Can I set it so that when any team member follows up with a contact in a shared Bucket, that contact's Follow-Up Reminder is reset for all team members?

No, Follow-Up Reminders are issued on an individual basis. Likewise, a Bucket's status (green/strong, yellow/fading, red/weak) is based on each team member's activities for that Bucket, not the team's activities as a whole.

What happens if I apply a Program to a shared Bucket?

Program steps appear on the Dashboard of the team member who applied the program.

I want my Contacts tab to show just my contacts, not team members' contacts that have been shared with me. How can I see just my contacts?

Scroll down on the left hand side of the Contacts tab and find Connected To. Uncheck the box that says "Include team's contacts." This will hide all contacts except those whom you have interacted with or uploaded personally.

If some of the contacts whom you have interacted with are in Buckets you share with other team members, you may see that the Last Contact column notes a team member's interaction. This may be confusing because it looks as if you're still seeing contacts that aren't yours. It's only, however, that both you and a team member have access to those contacts. The contacts continue to show in your Contacts tab because you have interacted with them. Unchecking the box that says "Include team's contacts" hides only contacts with whom you've never interacted.

How can I make private my personal conversations with a shared contact?

Go to the contact's profile and click the icon at the top right hand corner that indicates the contact is shared. Click "Change to private." This will hide your conversation history so that it's only visible to you. The contact and other team members' conversations with that contact will still be visible to team members who have access to it.





To fully share the contact again, click the red lock at the top right hand corner of the contact's profile and click "Change to shared."





How do I set it so that none of my team members can export, archive, or delete any team contacts?

You can adjust these settings in Contactually's Settings under Team and Permissions. Team members will always retain ownership of their own contacts. See here for details.

 

Related articles

How to add team members
How to assign contacts to team members
How to share contacts with team members
Team-wide permissions
How do I copy content to my team library? 
Setting up your team to reflect your team structure
Lead Routing

support@contactually.com
http://assets0.desk.com/
contactually
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete